Wieckowski's committee to review settlement of Volkswagen emissions scandal

Joint hearing of Environmental Quality and Transportation & Housing committees to also get update on Fiat Chrysler investigation

March 20, 2017

Sacramento ­– A joint hearing of the Senate Environmental Quality Committee, chaired by Senator Bob Wieckowski (D-Fremont) and the Transportation and Housing Committee will question the chief counsel of the California Air Resources Board (ARB) on the impact of Volkswagen and Fiat Chrysler emission scandals on California’s air quality and consumers.

“Californians place a high priority on clean air and Volkswagen’s attempt to circumvent our standards and dupe consumers is a huge violation of state and federal laws and the public trust,” said Wieckowski, who also sits on the Transportation and Housing Committee.  “It is important that we explore the settlement terms on Volkswagen in more detail to see how mitigation will occur.  It can also inform us on how to improve future enforcement actions, such as with Fiat Chrysler.” 

Volkswagen admitted that a large number of its vehicle engines had been manufactured with a “defeat device” to bypass the vehicles’ emissions control system.  The vehicles are able to pass emissions tests despite exceeding federal emissions standards by up to 40 times.  ARB eventually discovered the deceptive devices.  This January, ARB and the United States Environmental Protection Agency issued notices of violation to Fiat Chrysler for failing to disclose auxiliary emission control devices in 2014-2016 Jeep Grand Cherokees and Ram 1500 pickup trucks.   ARB’s investigation is on-going.


WHO:             Senate Environmental Quality Committee (Wieckowski, chair) and Senate Transportation and Housing Committee (Beall, chair)  

WHAT:          Joint Oversight Hearing

WHERE:       State Capitol, Room 4203

WHEN:          1:30 p.m., Tuesday, March 21, 2017


Senator Wieckowski represents the 10th Senate District, which includes southern Alameda County and northeast Santa Clara County.